What Wedding Catering Costs in Berks County
What wedding catering costs in Berks County from the caterers that print per-person prices: buffet, family style, plated and stations, the service charge and tax, the bar at a rented hall, and what the quote should itemize.

From the Berks caterers that print their prices, a served buffet runs about $11 to $33 a person before tax and the service charge. A four-hour full-service package with stations (serving points around the room), family style or a plated dinner is $69 a person, and the three venue kitchens in the table print $28 to $70 a head. On top of the plate sit 6 percent sales tax and, where one is printed, a service charge of 15, 18 or 20 percent, so a $28 buffet comes to about $35 a head once both are added. Whether you can pick your own caterer depends on the hall, and the hall's own page is where to look; the halls are listed under event venues in Berks County.
What wedding catering costs per person in Berks County.
Nationally, as of 2026, wedding catering averages $80 a person, and that price usually bundles the food, the drinks and the waitstaff; the Berks menus below mostly price the plates and the staff as separate lines, so one per-person number can mean a plate alone or a plate with the staff and dishes inside it.
Here's what Berks caterers print, by style, with what each price includes.
| Caterer and style | Per person | What's in it, and what sits on top |
|---|---|---|
| Chef Shef's Catering (Berks County; the house caterer at The Wherehouse of Hamburg): buffets | Bronze $28; Silver $33; cold buffet $24; hot-and-cold $29; pig roast $33; picnic menus $25 to $26 | Disposable ware, china rental available; a 20 percent service fee and 6 percent sales tax added; prices marked valid as of April 7, 2025 |
| Special Occasions by Panevino, Wernersville: stations, Italian family style or a plated four-course dinner | $69 for any of the three, a four-hour reception (its index lists stations at $64.95) | Hors d'oeuvres, dessert buffet, coffee, centerpieces, a catering manager, linens, china and glassware; bar setup of mixers and ice $3.95 a person; tax and service charge not stated |
| Moyer's Catering, Boyertown: buffets | Hot dinner with two entrées $18; picnic buffets $12.75 to $15.25 by headcount; pig roast $13 to $17 for 40 or more | Plates and utensils; delivery, setup and teardown; staff a flat $350 (125 and up) or $400 (75 to 125); $200 refundable deposit; cake cutting $75; tax and gratuity not stated |
| The Messy Pig, Womelsdorf: barbecue packages | $17.95 to $30.95 a guest, from meatballs, two meats and three sides to a nacho bar or grazing table, two meats, two sides, a salad and a pasta | Plates and flatware; tax and a service charge added per guest, percentage not stated; cleanup from $500; a $700 bartender package per 125 guests |
| Kathryn's Katering, Blandon: buffets | Hot buffet $18.50; cold buffet $10.50, delivered for 25 or more, plus a delivery fee | Paper plates and cutlery included; 6 percent tax added; a 15 percent service fee to have servers stay |
| Blue Kraken BBQ, Fleetwood: barbecue by the plate | One meat and two sides $15; two meats $18; three meats $21 | Plates and silverware $1 or $3 a person; staff $100 an hour; travel $2 a mile from Fleetwood; tax and gratuity not stated |
| Venue kitchens, for comparison | The Inn at Centre Park buffets $38 and $45, plated $28 to $46, cocktail party $70; Galen Hall banquet menu $28 (2025 contract); Mimmo's $36 to $44 | Each plus 6 percent tax and a 20 percent service charge or gratuity; room fee separate at the Inn and Galen Hall |
As each caterer's page prints it in October 2026; Chef Shef's page carries an April 2025 price date. The rows are different products, from a buffet on disposable plates to a staffed four-hour reception with rentals inside the price, so read what each includes before comparing. The full-service caterers that quote by the event are not in the table.
If your venue has its own kitchen, its per-person menu is the number to beat. The Inn at Centre Park in Reading prints a two-entrée dinner buffet at $38 a person and a $70 cocktail-party menu, for 25 guests or more, with 6 percent tax and a 20 percent service charge added. For the rental fee and the bar fees, read what a wedding venue costs in Berks County.
Which service style fits your budget: buffet, family style, plated or stations?
A buffet is a line your guests walk through and serve themselves, and family style sets platters on each table to pass around. A plated dinner is a course carried to each seat by a server, and stations are several small serving points around the room. In one national survey a buffet averages $27 a person and a plated dinner $40, and most of the Berks pages price the labor separately. If you'd rather the kitchen parked outside, look at the food trucks in Berks County that cater.
Special Occasions by Panevino in Wernersville prices stations, Italian family style and a four-course sit-down dinner at $69 a person for any of the three (its index page lists the stations package at $64.95), and its package pages add no tax or service line to that figure, so the quote will say whether anything sits on top. A plated dinner from the county's other caterers is priced by quote.
Moyer's Catering in Boyertown prints a two-entrée hot dinner at $18 a person, and full service with staff is a flat $400 for parties of 75 to 125 and $350 for 125 and up. Blue Kraken BBQ in Fleetwood prints the food by the plate, $15 to $21 a person, and the on-site catering staff by the hour at $100.
What the service charge, the tip and the sales tax add to the bill.
A service charge is a percentage the caterer or venue adds to the food and bar bill, and it may go to the business. A gratuity is the tip, and the word printed on your contract tells you which one you're paying.
How much is it? Most of the Berks caterers and venues that print a percentage print 20 percent; C.J. Hummels, a Lenhartsville restaurant with banquet rooms, prints 18 percent, and Kathryn's Katering in Blandon prints a 15 percent service fee to have servers stay. Pennsylvania taxes a caterer's food whether it's served at your hall or picked up, every Berks caterer and venue that prints a rate prints 6 percent, and a tip stated separately on the bill isn't taxed. Who else on the day expects a tip is covered in what a Berks wedding costs, vendor by vendor.
How the bar works when you rent a hall and bring the caterer.
In Pennsylvania there are three lawful ways to put a bar in a rented hall; the Liquor Control Board issues the licenses and permits, and the State Police's Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement enforces the law. Route one: the venue holds its own liquor license and sells the drinks, and a fixed-price open bar there is what the state calls a catered event, booked at least 24 hours ahead; a licensed hall also decides whether you may bring your own bottles and may charge a corkage fee for pouring them.
Route two: you buy the alcohol in Pennsylvania and give it away to your invited guests, with no fee, ticket or purchase tied to the drinks. That's BYOB, bringing your own alcohol. A certified bartender is one who's taken the state's server training; caterers pouring under a permit must use them and halls often require them. The Wherehouse of Hamburg runs its bar that way, poured by its certified bartenders. A bartender you hire may pour it but may not supply or sell it. A restaurant room's own BYOB rules are under holiday party venues in Berks County.
Route three is a licensed restaurant or caterer with a catering permit, the permit that lets it pour and sell its own alcohol at a rented hall. The caterer files written notice with the Liquor Control Board and the local police, and the function is arranged at least thirty days ahead. A question about your own contract or hall goes to the caterer, the venue or the Bureau, and anything past that to a lawyer, which is what our guide to finding a lawyer in Berks County is for.
What your quote should itemize, and what a tasting tells you.
A written quote should show each entrée, appetizer, dessert and drink, the rentals, the labor, travel, setup and breakdown, any cake-cutting fee, and the tax.
- Is the service charge the staff's tip, and how many servers and bartenders are in the price? Galen Hall recommends one bartender per 50 guests and one server per 30.
- How are the vendor meals priced? Your photographer, videographer and DJ need a hot meal, and some caterers price those plates lower. Cake cutting is typically an add-on; Moyer's prints it at $75, and the cake itself is in what a wedding cake costs in Berks County.
Konopelski Katering in Sinking Spring and Mayo's Catering & Events in Reading price every wedding by quote rather than a printed menu. A tasting confirms the menu you were quoted is the one you'll eat; The Messy Pig's, at its Womelsdorf store, is complimentary.
Questions couples ask about wedding catering in Berks County.
Does my venue let me bring my own caterer?
Foxglove Farm and Fox Rose Farm let you choose, as does Stone Spring Farms, which signs off on your choice, and The Wherehouse of Hamburg requires Chef Shef's. The rooms that come with a kitchen are gathered under small wedding and rehearsal dinner venues in Berks County.
What should I budget for 100 guests?
At $80 a head nationally, 100 guests is $8,000. A Berks buffet printed at $28 is about $35 a person once the 20 percent service charge and 6 percent tax are added, so multiply the all-in figure by your count, $3,500 for 100 at the $35 figure, then add the bar.
Do I tip the caterer on top of the service charge?
Read the word on the contract: gratuity means the tip is in the bill. If it carries a service charge and no gratuity, ask who receives it before you add a tip; when nothing is written in, the customary guide is 15 to 20 percent of the food and drink bill.
Pick the style, get two or three itemized quotes, book the tasting, and read the service-charge line before you sign. If the hall isn't settled, start with event venues in Berks County.
Sources
- The Knot, "The Average Wedding Catering Cost Might Surprise You" (updated March 27, 2025; 2025 Real Weddings Study of couples married in 2024) and "The Average Wedding Cost" (updated September 29, 2026; couples married in 2025): $80 a person in both studies, the $62 to $123 regional range, the totals by guest count, what a package customarily includes, the add-ons, vendor meals and what a quote should itemize.
- WeddingWire, "Wedding Cost Guide" (undated; read October 2026): $27 a person for a buffet against $40 for plated service.
- Zola, "What's the Average Cost of a Wedding?" (updated March 6, 2026): the $6,927 catering and $5,542 bar averages and their ranges, service charges of 18 to 22 percent, delivery and setup of $200 to $500, and $150 to $300 a guest for food, drink and rentals.
- Zola, "Do You Tip a Wedding Caterer?" (updated February 5, 2024): the 15 to 20 percent tip when gratuity is not in the contract, the per-person alternatives, and 10 to 15 percent of the bar bill for bartenders.
- Chef Shef's Catering, "Catering Menu Options" (prices valid as of April 7, 2025; read October 2026) and The Wherehouse of Hamburg: every buffet and picnic price, the disposable ware and china rental, the 20 percent service fee and 6 percent tax, pickup without the fee, and the venue's exclusive-caterer and BYOB lines.
- Special Occasions by Panevino, catering index and the stations, Italian family style and sit-down wedding package pages (read October 2026): the $69 packages and what they include, the printed upgrades, the $64.95 index line and the $3.95 bar setup.
- Moyer's Catering, menu PDF, picnic and pig roast page and wedding page (read October 2026): the per-person menus, the wedding service, the flat staffing fees, the deposit, the payment schedule and the cake-cutting charge.
- The Messy Pig BBQ Company, "July 2026 Wedding Menu" (PDF) and "Weddings" (read October 2026): the packages, the per-guest extras, the cleanup and bartender lines, the rentals, the complimentary tasting, the deposit and payment timing, and the fifty weddings a year.
- Blue Kraken BBQ, catering menu (read October 2026): the per-plate packages, grazing tables, travel, tableware and staffing rates.
- Konopelski Katering (read October 2026), Mayo's Catering & Events, Devour Catering & Event Design, Catering By John Lowe: the full-service caterers that quote, their service styles, the 40-mile radius, the alcohol-supplied-by-customer line and the free consultations.
- Kathryn's Katering, catering menu PDFs (read October 2026): the $18.50 hot buffet and $10.50 cold buffet plus 6 percent tax, the 15 percent service fee to have servers stay, the paper products included and the 25-person delivery minimum.
- Kraras Hall of Wyomissing and Foxglove Farm (read October 2026): the caterers each venue lists.
- Fox Rose Farm, "Weddings"; Stone Spring Farms; Folino Estate, "Wedding FAQ"; The Barn at Walnut Grove; Reinhart's Barn (all read October 2026): the rule on outside caterers at Fox Rose, Stone Spring, Folino and Walnut Grove, and the bar and certified-bartender lines at Stone Spring, Walnut Grove and Reinhart's.
- The Inn at Centre Park, "Event Menus"; Galen Hall Golf Club, 2025 event contract (PDF); Mimmo's, "Banquet Rooms" and banquet menu (February 2026); Christine's Creekside Inn, "Banquet Menu"; C.J. Hummels, "Banquets" (all read October 2026): the venue kitchens' per-person prices, server rates, china fees, headcount deadlines, and the 20 and 18 percent service charges and gratuities.
- Pennsylvania Department of Revenue, "Restaurant Industry Guidance" (read October 2026): a caterer's food is taxable whether served or taken out, and a separately stated gratuity is not.
- Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board, legal FAQs on BYOB (May 2017), free alcoholic drinks (May 2017), special events (February 2020) and mobile bartending (February 2024): giving alcohol away without a fee, the hired bartender who may serve but not supply it, the server training, the catered event at a licensed venue, and that the State Police Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement enforces the law.
- Pennsylvania Liquor Code, sections 102 and 406(f) as amended by Act 51 of 2023 and Act 56 of 2025 (General Assembly's compiled text, read October 2026): the catered-function definition, the fourteen- and seven-day notices and the $100 late fee, the six-hour and midnight limits, trained servers and no ticket sales.